https://ojs.iucdt.com/index.php/johe/issue/feed Journal of Online Higher Education 2021-05-15T00:47:18+00:00 Alana Howlett alana.howlett@independence.edu Open Journal Systems <p>Independence University’s Journal of Online Higher Education (JOHE) seeks to present information and advance discussion in online instruction in higher education.</p> https://ojs.iucdt.com/index.php/johe/article/view/133 Higher Education and Real-world Training (HEaRT) 2021-04-06T19:48:00+00:00 Denise Bisaillon d.bisaillon@snhu.edu Toni Clayton t.clayton@snhu.edu Stacey Rosenberg s.rosenberg@snhu.edu Jan Wyatt j.wyatt@snhu.edu Beth VanOrsdale b.vanorsdale@snhu.edu <p>The Higher Education and Real-World Training (HEaRT) model provides a new online experiential ecosystem for learning where learners and employers meet to solve real-world problems. Southern New Hampshire University (SNHU) Academic team works in partnership with Career Services to support learners in healthcare administration, public health, nursing, and health information systems. The HEaRT asynchronous ecosystem allows for learners in an online learning platform to build soft skills—including team building, critical thinking, problem solving, communication, and networking—while connecting theory to practice. This innovative experience includes real-time feedback from industry experts, collaboration with peers, networking in an online learning community, and a learner-to-mentor ratio that supports highly effective learning. Learners who successfully meet the mastery requirements of the experience receive a digital badge and have the opportunity to apply for prior learning assessment (PLA) credit.</p> 2021-05-15T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2021 Denise Bisaillon, EdD, Toni Clayton, PhD, Stacey L. Rosenberg, DNP RN ACNS-BC CNE, Jan Wyatt, PhD, Beth Vanorsdale, DNP RN MHA CPHRM CNE https://ojs.iucdt.com/index.php/johe/article/view/124 Trifecta of Student Engagement Framework 2021-03-23T19:15:49+00:00 Jamie Gilbert Mikell jamie.gilbert@athens.edu <p>The purpose of this paper is to discuss the benefits of implementing the Trifecta of Student Engagement Framework in online courses and its subsequent benefit to transfer students, including degree completion. Many students who seek to transfer from community colleges are nontraditional and due to the rapidly increasing financial concern resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, community colleges are growing in popularity as a cost-effective option for many potential and existing college students. It is critical for the often-nontraditional transfer student to feel engaged in courses to facilitate their ultimate goal of degree completion. The Trifecta of Student Engagement framework proposes that students need to be engaged with course content, peers, and instructor to be wholly engaged in an online course. The Trifecta of Student Engagement framework may, in turn, aid buy-in to the university, academic programs and ultimately aid in the enablement of degree completion for transfer students.</p> 2021-05-15T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2021 Jamie Gilbert Mikell https://ojs.iucdt.com/index.php/johe/article/view/134 Editorial Welcome 2021-05-04T21:25:54+00:00 Sarah Fulkes sarah.fulkes@independence.edu <p>Editorial welcome for the May 2021 issue of Journal of Online Higher Education.</p> 2021-05-15T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2021 Sarah Fulkes https://ojs.iucdt.com/index.php/johe/article/view/135 Evolving Accreditation Requirements 2021-05-14T20:35:35+00:00 Sarah Fulkes sarah.fulkes@independence.edu <p>An evaluation of the changes in accreditation requirements over time.</p> 2021-05-15T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2021 Sarah Fulkes https://ojs.iucdt.com/index.php/johe/article/view/130 Book Review: The Power of Student Agency: Looking Beyond Grit to Close the Opportunity Gap by Anindya Kundu 2021-02-01T03:42:59+00:00 April Taylor apriltay@uark.edu <p>A book review of Anindya Kundu's <em>The Power of Student Agency: Looking Beyond Grit to Close the Opportunity Gap</em>.</p> 2021-05-15T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2021 April Taylor